Soviet prisoners in the SS Auschwitz

Transcript of interrogation of witness Skotnicki Ezhi about the living conditions in the camp,
including the murder of 7 Soviet officers in 1943
December 5, 1946, Lodz

Loading...

Document translation

Transcript of witness interview

District III District investigating judge of the District Court in the city of Lodz Judge S. Krzyzanowski questioned the person listed below as a witness, with no oath. After being warned about criminal liability for perjury under Art. 107 Code of Criminal Procedure , the witness testified as follows:

"Name: Engineer Skotnitsky Ezhi. Age: 44. Parent names: Heinrich and Stefania. Place of residency: Andzheya street 35, Lodz. Professional activity: engineer at a chemical factory. Religion: Roman Catholic. Criminal record: none.

I ended up at the camp in Auschwitz in June 1943. I worked at the clearing station construction site at Kommandoplanienrung. After a short break connected with typhus, which I contracted at the camp and was treated for at the camp hospital, I continued working at this hospital for 4 weeks as a janitor. I then worked at Kommandoweberei, at a factory for the production of leather, rubber and cellophane goods for army needs and the unloading of army supplies. I was then transferred to a new bathhouse in Birkenau (B, IIg) Effektenlager which was not yet operating. This work allowed me to communicate with prisoners from different camps and with people coming of their own free will (Zugangi). My job was to service the disinfection boiler. There was a small table with a journal that listed the names of people who came in and out, recorded by the Schreiber (clerk). The journal contained the following: the date of arrival, where the truck came from, the type of truck/car, the number of people arrived, sex, bathing date and exit from the bathhouse to the camp (or a different place), other notes.

The last field contained notes on why the number of people who entered the bathhouse was different from the number of people who ended up in the camp. This happened when there was an additional selection process at the bathhouse: when the disabled, injured and pregnant people were weeded out by the doctor or the S.D.G. These people were sent directly to the crematorium.

For example, I remember a note regarding three Hungarian women from a different camp, which have ended up at Auschwitz before. These were pregnant women. Their identification cards in the journal were marked S.B. and the women were taken to the crematorium.

I also remember 7 Soviet officers who just came to the war prisoner camp. They were washed and their information recorded. They were tattooed with numbers, but all of this was done to distract them, since they already suspected they would be sent to die. The guards probably thought they would protest. The Aufnahme reception clerks later told me that they were also sent to the crematorium. This incident should be remembered, among others, by Ludwik Pshibyla, a railroad employee who lived in Gliwice on the street Gliwice, 14.

The so-called Lublin transport came in the same way. These were girls from Majdanek who were aware of camp conditions and said that they will most likely be sent to die, as they knew too much. In order to console them, they were given Aufnahme and tattooed, sent to the camp and given portions of food with the rest. On the second day, it turned out that the girls were taken to the crematorium at night. In the morning, when we went to work by the crematorium, we noticed the remains of food and abandoned portions.

Actually, the system of giving out food portions was used in the so-called Czech camp. This was the camp at the B II.b. field, the so-called Czech Familienlager. At some point, men and young women with no children were sent to other camps and the rest were poisoned with gas: women with children the elderly and very young people. They were all given additional food portions to make them think they were being sent away as well.

The procedure for accepting a new prisoner to the camp was such that the prisoner was too scared to realize that prisoners all human rights upon entering the camp, if prisoners even made it to the camp gates to being with.

he shipment that brought me to Auschwitz left Radom at 3.00 am…"

"…We figured that there was enough wood to burn five million corpses. When the massive gas poisonings stopped in the fall of 1944, the wood was shipped out. The hard wood was cut up into small pieces that served as fuel for cars operating on wood gas. In order to distract people, I know that every Czech and Hungarian shipment of people (of which only a few survived) were ordered to send letters to their relatives immediately. The letters were to indicate that they are in labor camps and that everything is ok, that the relatives should wait for their return. Instead of indicating KL Auschwitz as the address, they were to write down Birkenau, and then even Waldsee — a town located at the border with Switzerland. I was told about these letters by Jews from subsequent shipments."


Read: Engineer Skotnitsky Ezhi
Recorded by: Christina Szymanska
District investigating judge: Yang Song

Round stamp: District investigating judge in Krakow

Translation

In English

Document. Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum archive
Proceedings of the Warsaw trial of the Auschwitz commandant, Rudolf Hess
Syg. Dpr-Hd/7в
pp. 207, 207а, 210

Transcript of interrogation of witness and former prisoner Otto Wolken (camp number 128828),
on the treatment of Soviet prisoners of war in ...
April 24, 1945, Krakow

Loading...
Document. Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum archive
Proceedings of the Warsaw trial of the Auschwitz commandant, Rudolf Hess
Syg. Dpr-Hd/6
pp. 1, 37

Pages from the Book of Punishment in the bunker of block 11.

The bunker of block 11 was the camp disciplinary segregation unit. 8 Soviet prisoners of war were sent here on June 11th, July 6th, August 28th, September 17th, October 19th, November 26th. 6 of them — Karpushev Yemids Yuli, Dashkovsky Yakov, Shevtsov Yakov, Ulyanov Nikolai, Algebrov Grigory, Tchebykin T. — were executed and 2 — Ivanov Nikolai, Antipov Grigory — released.

Single pages from daytime registers with special “AU” marks

These marks testifying about the murders of Soviet prisoners of war for political reasons and after the “Russisches  Kriegsgefangenen Arbeitslager” elimination.

Pages from the Book of the Disciplinary Company. 1.12.1943–4.10.1944

Contains surnames and personal numbers of 60 Soviet prisoners of war (POWs) specifying the length of punishment.
Personal numbers of Soviet POWs are marked with letter “R”.

Loading...
The Archives of the Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum.<br />Akta wiezniow/Szpital obozu w Bizezince. T.3. S.60 Sug.D-Au I/5

Document containing the note on assigning the Soviet prisoners of war (RKG) — Uzbeks — to Dr. Mengele

Document containing the note on assigning the Soviet prisoners of war (RKG) — Uzbeks — to Dr. Mengele specifying their surnames and personal numbers. 6.09.1944. Doctor Mengele conducted medical experiments on prisoners.

The Archives of the Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum.<br />Liesty premiowe. t.14. k.1977

A page from the insentive list. September 1944

Soviet prisoners were referred to as ‘Russe’. Surnames and personal number are stated in the list.

Яндекс.Метрика

Советские военнопленные в КЛ Аушвиц

Протокол допроса свидетеля Скотницки Ежи об условиях жизни в лагере,
в т.ч. об уничтожении 7 советских офицеров в 1943 г.
5 декабря 1946 г., Лодзь

Загрузка страниц...

Перевод документа

Протокол допроса свидетеля

Окружной следственный судья III Района Окружного суда в г. Лодзь в лице судьи С. Кржижановской допросила ниженазванного в качестве свидетеля — без присяги. После предупреждения свидетеля об уголовной ответственности за дачу ложных показаний согласно ст. 107 УПК — свидетель показал следующее:

«ФИО: инженер Скотницки Ежи. Возраст: 44 года. Имена родителей: Хенрик и Стефания. Место проживания: ул. Анджея, 35 в г. Лодзь. Род занятия: инженер на химической фабрике, вероисповедование: римско-католического вероисповедования, привлекался ли: не привлекался.

В лагерь в Освенциме я попал в июне 1943 года. Поочередно я работал на строительстве станции очистных сооружений в Kommandoplanienrung, после некоторого перерыва, вызванного пятнистым тифом, которым я заболел и лечился в лагерной больнице, я продолжил работу также 4 неделе в этой больнице в качестве дворника, а потом в Kommandoweberei, т.е. на производстве разных приборов из кожи, резины и целлофана для нужд армии и выгрузки боеприпасов. Потом меня перевели в только-что сооруженную, но не работающую сауну в Биркенау (B, IIg) Effektenlager. Это работа, которая позволяла мне общаться с узниками из разных лагерей и с людьми, приходящими из воли, т.н. Zugangi. Моя работа заключалась в обслуживании котла для дезинфекции, у которого стоял небольшой стол, на котором находился журнал поступающих и выходящих из купели, который вел Schreiber (писарь). В этом журнале были следующие записи: дата прибытия транспорта, откуда он прибыл, тип транспорта, количество прибывших, пол, дата купели и выхода из сауны в лагерь, или иное место, прочие отметки.

В поле на отметки записывались причины, по которым количество прибывших в сауну отличались от количества, выбывших в лагерь. Такое случалось, когда в сауне проводили дополнительную селекцию, тогда отсеивались инвалиды, с видимыми язвами, беременные, отобранные врачом или его заместителем S.D.G. Таких отсеянных вели прямо в крематорий.

Например, помню отметку, которая касалась трех венгерских женщин из другого лагеря, который уже один раз попал в Освенцим. Это были беременные женщины. В их персональных карточках в поле «отметки» этого журнала записано S.B. Всех их отправили в крематорий.

Помню также 7 советских офицеров, которые только-что прибыли в лагерь для военнопленных, их помыли, потом оформили на них карточки учета (Aufnahme), татуировано номер, все этого для того, чтобы усыпить их внимание, т.к. они подозревали, что они идут на смерть. Видимо, ожидалось, что могут оказать сопротивление. Писари из отдела приема Aufnahme потом мне сказали, что карточки этих офицеров были уничтожены, а мы сами видели, что их повели дорогой, которая вела в крематорий. Этот случай должно быть помнит, среди других, некий Людвик Пшибыла, ж/дорожный служащий, проживающий в г. Гливице на ул. Гливицка, 14.

Таким же образом поступили с т.н. люблинским транспортом. Это были девушки из Майданека, которые зная условия и приемы, используемые в лагере, говорили, что они наверняка пойдут на смерть, т.к. они знают слишком многое. Для их успокоения, им оформили Aufnahme, сделали татуаж, отослали в лагерь и выдали порции еды с «цулагами». На второй день оказалось, что этих девчат увели в крематорий ночью. Утром, когда мы проходили на работу рядом с крематорием мы заметили остатки еды и брошенные порции.

Впрочем, система выдачи порций еды использовалась перед отравлением газом по отношению к т.н. чешскому лагерю. Это был лагерь на поле B II.b. т.н. чешский Familienlager. В какой-то момент мужчины, молодые бездетные женщины были переведены в другие лагеря, а остальные были отравлены газом; женщины с детьми, престарелые, малолетняя молодежь. Все они получили дополнительную порцию еды, чтобы создать впечатление отправки по транспорту.

Сама форма приема узника в лагерь была такова, что узник уже был достаточно напуган и истерзан, чтобы осознать, что в момент поступления в лагерь он потерял все человеческие права, если только он добрался до его ворот живым.

Транспорт, в составе которого я попал в Освенцим, выехал из Радомя в 3 часа ночи...»

«...мы подсчитали, что заготовленной там древесины достаточно для того чтобы сжечь пять миллионов трупов. Когда прекратилось массовое истребление газом осенью 1944 года, древесину стали вывозить, а твердые породы резать на мелкие куски, которые служили топливом для автомобилей, которые работали на древесный газ. Для отвода глаз бдительного населения, я знаю, что из каждого чешского или венгерского транспорта которого уцелела лишь незначительная часть, должна была немедленно послать письма своим родственникам. В письмах следовало указать, что они находятся в трудовом лагере и с ними все хорошо, и пусть ждут их возвращения. В качестве места отправки писем им следовало указать не известный им адрес KL Auschwitz, a Birkenau, а потом даже Waldsee — городок достаточно известный на границе со Швейцарией. О получении таких писем мне рассказывали евреи из последующих транспортов.»


Прочтено: инженер Скотницки Ежи
Вручил: судья С. Кржижановска, вручил СМ
Протоколировала: Кристина Шиманьска

Верно. Окружной следственный судья, Ян Сон
Печать круглая гербовая: Окружной следственный судья в Кракове

Translation

In English

(Документ. Архив Государственного музея Аушвиц-Биркенау.
Материалы Варшавского процесса над комендантом КЛ Аушвиц
Рудольфом Гессом. Syg. Dpr-Hd/7в Лл. 207, 207а, 210)

Протокол допроса свидетеля б. узника Отто Волькена (лагерный номер 128828),
об обращении с советскими военнопленными в … году.
24 апреля 1945 г., Краков

Загрузка страниц...
(Документ. Архив Государственного музея Аушвиц-Биркенау.
Материалы Варшавского процесса над комендантом КЛ Аушвиц
Рудольфом Гессом. Syg. Dpr-Hd/6 Лл. 1, 37)

Страницы Книги наказаний в бункере 11 блока.

Бункер 11 блока был лагерным карцером. Из советских военнопленных за 11 июня, 6 июля, 28 августа, 17 сентября, 19 октября, 26 ноября 1943 года внесены 8 человек. Из них казнены — Карпушев Емидс Юлий, Дашковский Яков, Шевцов Яков, Ульянов Николай, Алгебров Григорий, Чебыкин Т.; освобождены — Иванов Николай, Антипов Григорий.

Отдельные листы Книги дневных реестров с особыми отметками „AU“

Отметки „AU“ свидетельствуют об уничтожении советских военнопленных по политическим мотивам и после ликвидиции „Russisches Kriegsgefangenen Arbeitslager“

Страницы Книги дисциплинарной роты
1.12.1943–4.10.1944 гг.

Содержит фамилии и лагерные номера 60 советских военнопленных с указанием срока наказания. У лагерных номеров советских военнопленных написана буква „R“.

Загрузка страниц...
(Архив Государственного музея Аушвиц-Биркенау. Akta wiezniow / Szpital obozu w Bizezince. t. 3, S. 60 Sug.D-Au I/5)

Документ с записью о направлении к
доктору Менгеле советских военнопленных

Документ с записью о направлении к доктору Менгеле советских военнопленных (RKG) — узбеков с указанием их фамилий и лагерных номеров. 6.09.1944. Доктор Менгеле проводил медицинские эксперименты над заключенными.

(Документ. Государственный музей Аушвиц-Биркенау. D-Au I-3/1 Liesty premiowe t. 14, k. 1977)

Лист списка поощрений. Сентябрь 1944 г.

Советские военнопленные обозначены как «Russe». Указаны фамилии и лагерные номера.

Яндекс.Метрика